Recipe:

1 can black beans, rinsed (420 calories)

1/4 cup cocoa powder (80)

pinch of salt

3 squares of dark chocolate, melted (170) *

2 tbs agave (120)

1 egg white (15)

2 tbs natural applesauce (12.5)

1 tsp vanilla

* I used a giant chocolate bar from hershey park, the total size was 6.8 ounces.

Instructions:

Put everything in a food processor and blend until smooth. You can add more agave if it’s not sweet enough. Bake for 30 minutes at 350 degrees, or until they brownies look done and start to pull away from the edge.

This recipe didn’t exactly turn out the way I wanted. The brownies didn’t bake up, it was more like fudge? I don’t even know. Just an experiment to see how low I could get the calories.

I think I learned a lesson today. Everything turns out better with sugar. 😦

After these results, I ended up making a close to full fat recipe for black bean brownies which can be found here!

With the sugar and eggs, they really baked up into the brownie we all know in love. mmm 🙂

On the left is the low sugar version, right is the sugar version.

Also, instead of the 2 tbs of oil that the linked recipe calls for, I used 1 tbs coconut oil and 1 tbs unsweetened applesauce. Everything else I kept the same!

Nutrition

Low Sugar

Whole pan is 817.5 /12 = 68 calories per brownie

Sugar Version

whole pan is 1306 / 16 = 81 calories per brownie

