So for Memorial Day Weekend my friend Kellie and her family had a cookout celebration!

Naturally I had to bake something…

I know I said I’ve been into using healthy ingredients and such…

well…this is NOT one of those instances.

What do you get when you combine 2 sticks of butter, sugar, and oreo cookies? Heaven that’s what.

Pure delicious heaven.

This was a fairly easy recipe too, and not many ingredients.

They turned out very soft and chewy…must be all that butter…

The recipe said it made 36…………..I got a good 60 cookies out of this recipe. The dough was never ending!

Now i could be exaggerating on the 60 part…but it sure made a lot more than 36. I lost count.

Would you believe these pictures were taken with an iPhone? Not bad if you ask me!

I found this recipe here and just tweaked it a little!

The original says they’re better if you refrigerate the dough…i didn’t and they turned out great. However i’ve never tried the chilling method so I can’t really vouch for it.

COOKIES AND CREAM COOKIES

1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 1/4 cups plain flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
30 Oreos with chocolate creme, roughly chopped into 4-6 pieces (I just use my best judgement of how much oreo-ness i want, it might’ve been a little less than 30)

Preheat the oven to 350 F and line baking trays with parchment paper.

Beat the butter and sugars together using an electric mixer until combined. Add the egg and vanilla and mix until incorporated.

Mix in the flour, salt and baking soda on a low speed until combined. Add the Oreo pieces and mix until just combined.

Scoop tablespoons of dough onto baking trays and bake for 9-10 minutes. Makes 36 cookies. (More like 60…)

 

Here’s one last picture…not as good as the others BUT you can see all the buttery goodness so I figured i’d share 😉

Hope everyone had a great memorial day weekend and sending thoughts to all those in/with loved ones in the military.